Write it down.

Posted: November 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

I try to keep a tiny notebook with me wherever I go. I’m far from a luddite, but as awesome as technology is, you just can’ t carry an ipad with you everywhere. And, even if you did, there are too many steps between having an idea and opening the right app to get that idea down for it to be as useful as a simple pad and paper. Don’t get me wrong, I think technology’s getting there, and–someday–I’ll be able to map story ideas with technology somehow tied to my thoughts, but we’re just not there yet. And my great ideas are so few and far between that I need to get the down as soon as I can. It’s not about the technology. It’s not about how you get the idea down at all. It’s that you get the idea down. It’s that you share your individual insight with the world. It will most likely be the same insight we’ve heard a billion times before, but we need to keep hearing those insights. We are a people who need to hear the same truths over and over and over and over again. Because we forget. It’s not even that newer generations are born into ignorance. No, give us a decade or a day and we’ll misplace some principle that, only a few years (or hours) before, defined us in some way. So, it’s important, this thing we do–creation. Even art without a direct message often reminds us, if nothing else, to smile. And that’s enough. So, write it down.

Leave a Reply

